Author Topic: Importing from Oz or America  (Read 4574 times)

mustadrseed

Importing from Oz or America
« on: August 24, 2008, 10:22:00 PM »
Bit naiieve but I was wondering if anyone had imported a campervan from either Oz or Us and if so could you offer advice/guidance to a complete newbie :)

I was wondering what price would be shipping costs?
HOw long do you think it would take?
Would it be worth it?
What paperwork would I need?
What would I have to pay on this side?

I read in another post its
17.5%
then 10% of cost+shipping

Have i got that correct?

THanks from a complete newbie :ninja

Offline Manana

Re: Importing from Oz or America
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2008, 11:30:38 PM »
I would take a look at crazylegs selection unless you already have a good bus secured. hidden risk free (as you can go see the bus), and his customers all seem happy!

Offline trev

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2008, 11:40:37 PM »
and his customers all seem happy!

yeah but you don't hear from the unhappy ones, they get "taken care of" by the welly-boot mafia... ;D

no seriously, there's a lot to be said for touching, feeling, driving your potential purchase. I bought mine in the days before Krazy Kombis, sight unseen over the internet from California. To say my heart was in my mouth for months while waiting for the van to arrive would be an understatement! Thankfully it turned out OK in the end but if I was doint it again I'd be buying locally... :)

Offline Uncle Matt

« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2008, 11:07:33 AM »
Heyhey,
I'm currently in the process of bringing one in from America, a relative is sending one over for me, he organised the works  :) but unfortunately I'm going to have to pay the duty when it lands here :( Its taking about 7 weeks for the shipping. I'll let you know how i get on after i clear it...
Einen VW-Transporter muss man haben

mustadrseed

« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2008, 02:56:55 PM »
cool thanks for replies.